2018 02 colonial players logo
2018 02 sex with strangers banner
Colonial Players Announces Season 70! Colonial Players is pleased to officially announce our 70th Season! Click here for details!
Seeking Directors for CP's 70th Season! The Colonial Players is seeking directors for its 2018-2019 Season! Click here for details!
18th WATCH Award Nominees Announced! Colonial Players earned 21 WATCH award nominations in the 18th annual WATCH award competition! Click here for details.
Casa Valentina Auditions The Colonial Players is pleased to announce auditions for Casa Valentina. Click here for details!

ruby griffith logoRuby Griffith Awards

From the British Players website:

Ruby L. Griffith was born in London on April 9, 1907. After her professional career, primarily in the field of theatre education as director of the Italia Conti Stage School in London, she moved to Washington DC.

Early in 1964, she became a founding member of the British Players (formerly known as The British Embassy Players) and directed and produced the group's first play, Night Must Fall. Thereafter, she devoted her talent and energies to the Players and was given the title 'Artistic Director'. Through her wide experience and teaching talent, Ruby infused the Players with a strong sense of professionalism. She produced and/or directed seven of the British Players first fourteen productions.

On the opening night of the British Players' 1968 Old Time Music Hall, which she produced and directed, Ruby suffered a cerebral hemorrhage. She died a few days later.

In honour of her contributions, the British Players instituted an annual award competition for All-Round Production Excellence. Initially, the Washington Theatre Alliance, which, at that time, was an organization of fourteen theatre groups including the British Players, administered the Ruby Griffith Award. At the time the award was open only to Theatre Alliance members and attracted 10 entrants in the first season.

2015 7 RubyGriffithruby griffith trophyBeginning with the 1971/72 season, the British Players assumed the administration of the competition and expanded eligibility to include more of the Washington area's amateur groups. With the start of the 1991/92 season, two new achievement awards were added; they are the Ruby Griffith Award for Outstanding Achievement in a Musical and the Ruby Griffith Award for Outstanding Achievement in a Non-Musical.

The All-Round Production Excellence Award is a trophy made of sterling silver and depicts the masks of comedy and tragedy below the British Lion. The trophy was crafted by Garrards of London from an original design provided by an early member of the British Players. The two Outstanding Achievement Awards are plaques with the representation of the Lion and masks from the All-Round Excellency trophy. The two Outstanding Achievement Awards also include certificates for two runners-up.

The Colonial Players, Inc. has been a proud member of the Ruby Griffith community for over four decades.

Since the Ruby Griffith award competition began in 1969, Colonial Players has been the recipient of the award several times, first winning for our 1973 production of I Never Sang for My Father, directed by Edd Miller. The following is a complete listing of the awards Colonial Players has received in this annual competition.

Winner - All Round Production Excellence

2015 - The Liar - Directed by Steve Tobin

1997 - I’m Not Rappaport - Directed by Richard Wade

1994 - A Little Night Music - Directed by Lois Evans

1992 - The Boys Next Door - Directed by Dan Higgs

1990 - Baby - Directed by Sharie Valerio

1984 - Tribute - Directed by Karen Cannon

1979 - The Runner Stumbles - Directed by Bob White

1976 - Godspell - Directed by Bob White

1974 - Butterflies Are Free - Directed by Sharie Valerio

1973 - I Never Sang for My Father - Directed by Edd Miller

Winner - Outstanding Achievement in a Musical

2006 - Enter the Guardsman - Directed by Lois Evans

Winner - Outstanding Achievement in a Play

2016 - Venus in Fur - Directed by Jim Gallagher

2013 - Shipwrecked! The amazing adventures of Louis de Rougement (as told by himself) - Directed by Ron Giddings

Runner-Up for All Round Production Excellence

1991 - (2ndHouse of Blue Leaves - Directed by Al Cauffman

1987 - (2ndI Do, I Do - Directed by Teddy Hogle

1985 - (2ndThey’re Playing Our Song - Directed by Barbara Gilstorf & Pam Myers

1983 - (2nd70 Girls 70 - Directed by Richard Wade

1981 - (2ndThe Shadowbox - Directed by Alan Berger

Runner-Up for Outstanding Achievement in a Play

2014 - (1stThese Shining Lives - Directed by Craig Mummey

2007 - (1st) A Moon for the Misbegotten - Directed by Bob Bartlett

1996 - (2ndMacbeth - Directed by Carol Youmans

1993 - (1stFences - Directed by Carol Youmans